Where Will You Be 5 Years From Today?

Where Do You See Yourself 5 Years From Now?

I always thought of this as a really stupid question. Life is so unpredictable that you never know what is going to happen tomorrow and yet you want me to tell you what are my plans for 5 years from now? I would usually have this sarcastic smile everytime this question came up during an interview. I didn’t have the answer but I always made something up.

I think most interviewers ask this question because it is part of a standard questionnaire and something that they have to.

It is stupid to plan for 5 years when you do to know what will happen tomorrow.

You Don’t Know or You Don’t Want To Know?

I like to be organized and like to have my plans down to the minutest of details and yet I thought that 5 years is too ahead for planning. I was more of plan your week and create an action plan for the day kind of person until this happened. Maybe I know where my life was headed if I continued the same path and I did not want to know it wasn’t headed where I wanted it to.

How Are You Going to Look When You Are 40 years old?

Someone asked me this question and while this might not seem like a life changing question, it was, to me.

The first thing that I was immediately aware of, was the fact that I was not to the best of my health. If I was not going to take immediate steps to modify my lifestyle, I would be is an even worse shape 5 years from today. There were a whole lot of other things but this was the first thing that hit me and it hit me bad.

Where Do You See Yourself In 5 Years From Now?

A simple question that really changed my perspective.I know exactly where I want to be 5 years, 10 years or even 15 years down the line. As I asked myself the question about hitting 40 over and over again, it set things in perspective for me. I realized what was urgent, what was important and frankly a lot of bullshit I was putting up with which wouldn’t matter 5 years from now.

Forget planning…Think How You want Your Life to Be 10 Years from Now.

Don’t think of creating long-term goals or creating a life plan. Life is too unpredictable for that. Instead, think about the kind of life you want to lead 10 years or maybe 5 years from now.

Success does not happen overnight but it is a result of a series of actions made over a period of time. When you know where you want to be 10 or even 5 years from now, it puts a lot of things in perspective for you. You are able to filter out the essentials and the necessary from a bunch of meaningless, useless and good for nothing everyday bullshit.

Most importantly it creates a sense of importance and urgency to getting started and getting started is where most of us fail.

So next time someone asks you, “Where do you see yourself 5 years from now?” hope you are ready for an answer for yourself.

Leave a Reply

