How To Get Unstuck From The Second Gear?

The Start Of Something New…

When you have been working daily on getting better at something and after the initial excitement dies down, it’s the results of your effort that keeps you going.

But what do you do when those results that keep driving you is no longer there?

I was very excited when I started with the 30 day challenge but after having crossed two thirds of the milestone I saw my readership status for the past 2 days today and I felt really down. 0 reads in the past 2 days. This blog does not have a lot of visibility but still I managed to get a couple of reads each day and that made me feel good.

Capture

But looking at a zero was very disappointing. I was filled with self doubt. I started questioning my abilities and wondering if writing was in fact something that I was cut out for. A little voice said, “Forget it, what’s the point of all this?”

The temptation to quit and start over infects every creative process I've ever been in. Frustration and boredom always fuel this self-doubt.
- Robert Lopez

Is this not true about most things in life? We want our lives to be like the movies we watch, full of action, fast paced and exciting.

But what do you do when you reach a plateau in life when you just seem to be stuck in second gear?

When I thought of giving up, I realized that hitting plateau in the natural thing to happen in almost everything that we do.

It applies to everything we do, be it when you buy a new car, start at a new job or even start a relationship for that matter, you will hit the plateau when you don’t feel the same thrill you felt  when you started and the drive to keep going.

What exactly is hitting the plateau?

It’s the place where you are better off than when you started but just can’t seem to get to the next level.pablo (6)

What Do You Do Then?

The answer is simple and the one that I should have known about.

If you ever start strength training or in fact any sort of a physical activity the results you get in the first 2 weeks is going to be phenomenal. When I had started strength training a few years ago, I lost 2 kgs in a matter of couple of weeks. I foolishly thought that at this rate in a couple of month I would get to my ideal weight. Guess what happened?

After a couple of weeks I hit the plateau. Even though I wasn’t gaining any weight I wasn’t loosing either and I got disheartened and quit just like I was going to quit writing too. What I should have done is change my approach or process of achieving rather than quitting on my goal.

You never want to plateau out. Getting better every day is my expectation.
- Jeffrey Lurie

So instead of giving up on this challenge, I am going to do what I should have done for every time I quit when I hit the plateau.

I am going to be consistent and I am going to be patient and when something does not work, I am going to find another way to make it work.

P.S: Show me some love, if you enjoyed reading this you can:

  1. Click Like
  2. Hit Share and let others know
  3. Leave me a comment and have a conversation
  4. All the above 🙂
3o Day Writing Challenge: Day # 20
Leave a Reply

