Time did not fly away, My Daily Routine Killed it.

time-699965_960_720I woke up so late today that I did not feel like doing anything at all. I was partly angry at myself for not having charged the phone enough so that it did not die down in the middle of the night and partly annoyed that I did the same thing last Sunday too. I took out my pocket notebook and it turned out that this Sunday was going to turn out exactly as all other Sundays as far as I could recollect.

I was unconsciously following a routine based on the IFTT principle.
For eg: If I woke up late today then……….

I realized that I did not have to set a routine and that a routine had been set already and I was following it without being consciously aware of it. As I began to dig deeper I realized that unless something out of the ordinary happened my swipe in and swipe out from office were pretty consistent [give or take 10 minutes] and that I almost always caught the same train to and from office. The same thing happened during weekends, if I wasn’t supposed to go out or run some personal errands, my weekends more or less turned out the same.

My life was automatically running on a schedule with an accuracy of +/- 5 minutes without even me being consciously being aware of it.

Routine: a regular way of doing things in a particular order 

 It wasn’t very hard to understand that why I sometimes felt that time was just rushing by and I was having a hard time catching up to it. My routine did not allow me to make changes or create effective habits that would allow me to steer the direction where my life was headed.

When I compare this with the past 10 days the one thing I changed was posting an article each day. Even though I am far from getting better at writing I feel that I am much more comfortable writing every day and I seem to enjoy the process of writing rather than fretting looking at a blank page.

A habit is a routine of behavior that is repeated regularly and tends to occur unconsciously.9964439824_8f9a8d5d32_z

So instead of focusing on getting more things done, I am going to focus on creating a routine that allows me get things done the most effective way and create great habits.

3o Day Writing Challenge: Day # 13
Leave a Reply

