Morning Cold Shower – It’s a big deal for me

30 Day Writing Challenge: Day # 2

It has been 18 days (in a row) that I haven’t missed a cold shower in the morning; it’s kind of a big deal for me.

I had read a couple of articles about the benefits of cold shower and thought I’d give it a try.

397px-doing_the_als_ice_bucket_challenge_281492719142629
Ice Bucket Challenge

It wasn’t easy as it sounds, not in the very least for me. I was used to hot water showers, during summers I still would bathe in cold water. Luke warm water was okay, but never cold water.

 

 

There was something about cold water shower that I felt very unpleasant to me, especially during winter when cold water hitting my head made me feel like I was drowning.

At first it was mentally painful to even convince myself in the morning.

I would think, “Do I really need to?”

 

Once I had gotten past the mental barrier the next thing that I had to do was to psyche myself and get ready for the cold water to hit me. I would stand in there butt naked to gather the courage and prepare for the shivers I knew I was going to get when the cold water hit me.

The more I waited the colder I felt and then finally I would muster enough courage to pour water and then the feeling of drowning would overwhelm me again as cold shivers would run down my spine.

After a couple of minutes I would be fine and would actually feel a lot better, the kind of feeling you get when you stop and feel energized after a early morning run or just let after you’ve held back on peeing for a long time.

Then each day it began to get easier and easier and after about 8 to 10 days I don’t even have to think about it. I go in…have a bath and come out….it is that simple.

That’s the power of habit; it automates what looks like a seemingly difficult task at first to something so intuitive that you don’t need to even actively think about it. I wish I could do the same for writing, make it a habit so entrenched in my memory trace that I write effortlessly.

After all that is the whole point of the 30 Day Writing Challenge.

 

 

One thought on “Morning Cold Shower – It’s a big deal for me

Leave a Reply

