30 Day Writing Challenge

Why Will I Write everyday for the next 30 Days and why should you be even reading this?

The 30 Day Writing Challenge: Day #1

It has been a while that I have written last on this blog page. 3 years to be very precise.

Of late I have been doing a lot of reading. Reading about how to read better and faster, reading crime thrillers, how to do this and how to do that and a good deal of facebook post, tweets, emails & newspaper.

I read about how you need to practice everyday to get better at writing. I was doing all this reading and knowing and fact gathering and learning about how to write and the one thing that was very clear to me was that I had to practice to get better at writing.

It’s always  the case isn’t it? we know what we want, we know that we are a long way to go to get better at it and that we need to put in the effort and practice but we just don’t.

I took a course on learning how to learn and the most important and yet the most basic thing that I learnt there was that you need to practice to strengthen the neural connection, see I already knew that but I didn’t practice anyway.

The other thing that I learnt is how procrastination works, I know what I need to do but even before I even get started on it, in my mind I anticipate all the difficulties that I might face and it stimulates pain and what do I do? I switch to a more pleasant task like checking facebook [the updates on the timeline can be very depressing at times] or going to Bored Panda or checking out news website [ocean of anxiety and depression if you ask me].

I also learnt that once you get started on a task you have been delaying, the associated pain goes away and your brain rewards you with dopamine because you got the job done. I have known this atleast for 2 weeks now.

Just these 2 things should have been important for me to get started with my 30 day challenge but I still procrastinated, WHY?
Because I was waiting for the perfect day to get started, a milestone of some sort. Like how about 1st of Jan….naah too bad you missed it….okay 1st Feb it is….missed it again…how about my birthday….ohh yeah…I have atleast a couple of weeks for that…

Then it hit me now….do I really need a milestone day to start it or can I just be writing my 30th post saying 16th Feb was the day I decided that I am going to post something here each and everyday?

So here I am….publishing the very first post.

I am being realistic, there are days when I wont just “feel” like it, there will be days when I wouldn’t have a topic or an idea to write about. Some posts are going to be so horrible that I would wish I could go back in time and slap myself out of stupidity.

In the end what matters is that I have an unbroken streak and I have been able to make and keep a commitment I made to myself.

 

3 thoughts on “30 Day Writing Challenge

  1. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours lately, but I by no means discovered any interesting
    article like yours. It is pretty price enough for me.
    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made just
    right content as you probably did, the web can be a
    lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

